Chubut Province - (Provincia del Chubut; Talaith Chubut) lies in southern Argentina between the Andes Mountains in the west and the Atlantic Ocean in the east and bordering the provinces of Santa Cruz in the south and Río Negro in the north.
It features three main environmental regions - the mountainous areas in the west, the coastal area and amid the two, vast plains of the Central High Plateau. In this last region is the Patagonian Desert that stretches to the mountains, forests, lakes and the major city of Esquel. There are magnificent sites in the plateau such as Altars Valley (Valle de los Altares), the standing stone (Piedra Parada) and the Petrified Forest near Sarmiento.
On the seaside, Valdes Peninsula (Península Valdés) is a must-see World Heritage Site, an important nature reserve for the conservation of marine mammals. Visitors at the peninsula enjoy watching the fauna as well as activities such as fishing and snorkelling and visiting the town of Puerto Pirámides.
Along the Atlantic there are beautiful cities namely Rawson, Comodoro Rivadavia and Puerto Madryn with long stretches of sand beaches, impressive landscapes and the exciting possibility of watching the southern right whale. The live webcams will show you excellent views of Chubut from the lively cities to the wonderful landscapes found in the province.

Population: estimated 609 thousand people

Capital: Rawson

Other major cities:
Comodoro Rivadavia, Puerto Madryn, Trelew

Main attractions:
Los Alerces National Park, Valdes Peninsula, La Trochita (Old Patagonian Express), Museum of Paleontology Egidio Feruglio, La Hoya ski resort, Punta Tombo Peninsula, Puerto Madryn, Esquel, Trevelin

Major Airports:
General Enrique Mosconi International Airport (CRD - Aeropuerto Internacional General Enrigue Mosconi)

NOTE! This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

If you not change browser settings, you agree to it.

I understand