Located between the South Pacific Ocean and the Indian Ocean, Australia is the largest country of the continent of Oceania and the sixth largest in the world in terms of total area. It comprises over 8,000 islands, the three largest being Tasmania, Melville Island and Kangaroo Island. Although the most known and largest urban area is Sydney, the capital city is Canberra.

Population: around 23 million inhabitants

Capital: Canberra

Other major cities: Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Perth, Adelaide

Religion: mainly Protestant and Catholic

Climate: arid to semiarid in most of the territory, temperate (south-east), Mediterranean (south-west), tropical (north)

Main attractions: Great Barrier Reef, Sydney Opera House, Skyrail Rainforest Cableway (Queensland), Sydney Harbour Bridge, Blue Mountains, Uluru

Watch the live streaming HD webcams in Australia, a country whose head of state is the monarch of the UK.

NOTE! This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

If you not change browser settings, you agree to it.

I understand