Belonging to the Alps, the state of Tyrol (Tirol) is located in western Austria, next to Salzburg, and shares its south border with South Tyrol, a province of Italy. Famous for its ski resorts and historic landmarks, it is divided into two parts, the largest being North Tyrol (Nordtirol) and the smallest East Tyrol (Osttirol).

Population: About 739,000 inhabitants

Capital: Innsbruck

Other major cities: Kufstein, Telfs, Schwaz, Hall in Tirol, Wörgl, Lienz, Imst, Rum, St. Johann in Tirol, Kitzbühel 

Main attractions: Ambras Castle, Swarovski Crystal Worlds, Innsbruck Alpine Zoo, Goldenes Dachl, Tirol Panorama & Kaiserjäger Museum, Kufstein Fortress, Achen Lake, Bergisel Ski Jump, Hofkirche (or Schwarzmanderkirche), Imperial Palace Innsbruck, Schwaz Silver Mine, Tirol Farmstead Museum

Nearest airports: Innsbruck Airport (INN), often called Innsbruck-Kranebitten Airport, is Tyrol’s main international airport, being located about 4 km from the centre of Innsbruck.

NOTE! This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

If you not change browser settings, you agree to it.

I understand