Belgium (België, Belgique, Belgien), officially named Kingdom of Belgium, is located in the northwest of Europe. This country shares its borders with France, the Netherlands, Germany and Luxembourg, and has a coastline to the North Sea. Inland, you will find the Ardennes hills and forests (where the highest point is the Signal de Botrange), which contrast with a succession of astonishing valleys.
Belgium is divided into three regions: Dutch-speaking Flanders, French-speaking Wallonia and Brussels, the bilingual capital, where French and Dutch are both official languages.
The country’s capital city Brussels, which you may see via livestream, is known to be the headquarters of the European Union.

Population: Over 11 million inhabitants

Capital: Brussels

Other major cities: Antwerp, Ghent, Charleroi, Liège, Schaarbeek / Schaerbeek, Bruges, Anderlecht, Namur, Leuven

Religion: Roman Catholic

Climate: The country enjoys a temperate maritime climate (with moderate winters and cool summers), due to the influence of the Atlantic Ocean and the North Sea.

Main attractions:  Belfry Roman Catholic & Halle, Cathedral of Saint Bavo, Ghent, The Battlefields of Flanders, Ghent's Gravensteen, Basilica of the Holy Blood, Bruges, Meuse Valley, Grand Place, Antwerp, Mons Old Town, St. Peter's Church, Leuven, Mechelen Old Town, Waterloo, Semois Valley

NOTE! This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

If you not change browser settings, you agree to it.

I understand