The country of Bulgaria, formally the Republic of Bulgaria (Република България) is situated in the east part of the Balkan Peninsula, Southeastern Europe. Bulgaria shares borders with Serbia and Macedonia to the west, Romania to the north, Greece and Turkey to the south, and has a delightful Black Sea coast to the east. Bulgaria has a diversity of landscapes including the Balkan Mountains, the Thracian Plain, the Rhodope Mountains and the Danubian Plain, and also a great variety of plant and animal species. Sofia, the capital city, is a modern and lively city with outstanding onion-domed churches. In the coastline of the country, you will find wonderful cities and resorts such as Varna and Burgas. The movement of 100 tourist sites of Bulgaria, started by a group of students in the country, came as an initiative to the nationals and tourists to visit the top sites in Bulgaria.

Population: estimated 7.1 million inhabitants

Capital: Sofia

Other major cities: Varna, Plovdiv, Burgas, Ruse, Stara Zagora, Pleven, Dobrich, Silven

Religion: Bulgarian Orthodoxy (60%)

Climate: temperate-continental, with hot summers and cold winters

Main attractions: Sofia, Black Sea coastline, landmarks: Monastery of Saint Ivan of Rila, Boyana Church, St. Alexander Nevsky Cathedral, Tsarevets medieval fortress, Aladzha monastery, Bachkovo Monastery of the Dormition of the Theotokos, Rila National Park, Sunny Beach resort, Nature Park Bulgarka, Central Balkan National Park, Varna Archaeological Museum

NOTE! This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

If you not change browser settings, you agree to it.

I understand