Bordering Argentina (east), Bolivia (northeast), Peru (north) and the Drake Passage (south), Chile is a country in the western side of South America that stretches over a long and narrow 6,000 km-strip of Pacific coastline, with the nation’s widest point measuring only 240 km. And due to its geographic location, this is a country of extremes, from sea level all the way up to the 6,893-m peak of Ojos del Salado (the 2nd highest mountain in South America). Watch the live cameras in Chile to know more about this country.

Population: 18 million inhabitants 

Capital: Santiago

Other major cities: Puente Alto, Antofagasta, Viña del Mar, Valparaíso (UNESCO World Heritage Site), Talcahuano, San Bernardo, Temuco, Iquique, Concepción

Religion: Roman Catholic

Climate: Generally temperate; cool and damp in the south; desert in the north (Atacama Desert); Mediterranean in the centre; Easter Island has humid subtropical characteristics

Main attractions: Incan architecture; the mysterious and monumental statues of Easter Island; San Cristóbal Hill; Torres del Paine National Park; Pomerape and Parinacota volcanoes (in the Andes, on the border with Bolivia); Valley of the Moon (Valle de la Luna); Chungará Lake; La Moneda Palace; Nahuelbuta National Park; Museo Chileno de Arte Precolombino; ski resorts, namely Valle Nevado, Portillo and Termas de Chillán; Conguillío National Park; Chiloé Archipelago; the glaciers in Laguna San Rafael National Park (in Patagonia).

NOTE! This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

If you not change browser settings, you agree to it.

I understand