The Antofagasta Region (Región de Antofagasta) is an administrative region of Chile comprising the provinces of Antofagasta, El Loa and Tocopilla. The region is bathed by the Pacific Ocean in the west, sharing borders with Atacama to the south, Tarapacá to the north, Bolivia and Argentina to the east. The region is within the Atacama Desert, one of the driest places in the world. The town of San Pedro de Atacama is a tourist destination to explore the landscapes of Antofagasta Region, including Los Flamencos National Reserve. The regions' capital, Antofagasta, is a port city with an attractive seafront and the famous natural arch La Portada.

Population: 600 thousand inhabitants

Capital: Antofagasta

Other major cities: Calama, Tocopilla

Main attractions: Antofagasta, Atacama Desert, Mano del Desierto (sculpture), Mirador de Kari - Piedra del Coyote (viewpoint), Salar de Atacama, Valle de la Luna (Atacama Desert), El Tatio (geyser field), La Portada (natural arch), Los Flamencos National Reserve

Nearest Airports: Andrés Sabella Gálvez International Airport (ANF), El Loa Airport (CJC - Aeropuerto El Loa)

NOTE! This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

If you not change browser settings, you agree to it.

I understand