The Metropolitan Region of Santiago (Región Metropolitana de Santiago) is the only landlocked administrative region (in a total of 15 administrative divisions) in Chile, and it is where the capital city, Santiago de Chile, is located — in a valley between the Andes (east) and the Chilean Coastal Range (west). This is not only the country’s largest city, but also one of the largest in the continent. Check out the weather conditions on the live HD cams in Santiago.

Population: Over 6 million inhabitants

Capital: Santiago

Other major cities: Puente Alto, San Bernardo

Main attractions: Sky Costanera lookout; Cerro San Cristobal Park; La Chascona Casa Museo; Parque Araucano; Museo de la Memoria y los Derechos Humanos; Museo Chileno de Arte Precolombino; Metropolitan Cathedral (Catedral Metropolitana); wineries; Santuario de la Inmaculada Concepción; National History Museum (in Palacio de la Real Audiencia);

Nearest Airports: Santiago International Airport (SCL), officially known as Comodoro Arturo Merino Benítez International Airport (Aeropuerto Internacional Comodoro Arturo Merino Benítez), located 15 km of downtown Santiago, is Chile’s largest and busiest airport.

NOTE! This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

If you not change browser settings, you agree to it.

I understand