Antioquia Department is a department, or administrative division, of Colombia, situated in the northwestern part of the country. Most of the territory of Antioquia Department is within the Andes Mountain range, with a section bordering the Caribbean Sea. The capital, the city of Medellín, is set on Aburrá Valley, featuring wonderful plazas, large and exquisite parks such as Gabriel García Márquez Park, cultural attractions such as several museums and theatres. For memorable sights over the beautiful city of Medellín, do not miss a metrocable tour, which lasts four hours! The lakeside town of Guatapé is a favourite resort in Antioquia Department where you can see the famous Rock of Guatapé, an isolated rock with more than 200 metres high. Antioquia offers wonderful landscapes such as the ecological park of Laguna de Guatape and the Cave of Splendor.

Population: approximately 7 million inhabitants

Capital: Medellín

Other major cities: Santa Fe de Antioquia, Puerto Berrío

Main attractions: Medellín Metrocable, Laguna de Guatape, Rock of Guatapé (Stone of El Peñol), Rio Claro Nature Reserve (Reserva Natural Cañon de Río Claro), Cave of Splendor (La Cueva del Esplendor), Joaquín Antonio Uribe Botanical Garden, Explora Park, Nutibara Hill, Bolívar Park, Rafael Uribe Uribe Palace of Culture

Nearest Airports: Enrique Olaya Herrera Airport (EOH - Aeropuerto Olaya Herrera), José María Córdova International Airport (MDE - Aeropuerto Internacional José María Córdova)

NOTE! This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

If you not change browser settings, you agree to it.

I understand