Olomouc Region (Olomoucký kraj) is an administrative division of the Czech Republic, situated in the western part of the country. It is named for its capital Olomouc, a magnificent city featuring impressive landmarks such as the 18th-century Holy Trinity Column, the 6 baroque fountains and the Gothic St. Wenceslas Cathedral. Olomouc Region has numerous historic buildings such as Bouzov Castle, wonderful landscapes such as in Litovelské Pomoraví Protected Landscape Area with hiking trails, ski resorts, outstanding cave complexes and beautiful towns including Jeseník, in the Hrubý Jeseník mountain range.

Population: over 600 thousand inhabitants

Capital: Olomouc

Other major cities: Přerov, Prostějov, Šumperk

Main attractions: Bouzov Castle, Helfštýn hilltop fort, Jánský vrch Castle, Holy Trinity Column, Saint Wenceslas Cathedral (city of Olomouc), Olomouc Zoo, Hranice Abyss (the deepest flooded pit cave in the world), Javoříčko caves, Na Pomezí Caves, Rychleby Trails, Olomouc Astronomical Clock (town hall of Olomouc), ski resort Kouty nad Desnou

Nearest airports: Brno–Tuřany Airport (BRQ - Letiště Brno–Tuřany)

NOTE! This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

If you not change browser settings, you agree to it.

I understand