Vysočina Region is an administrative division in south-central Czech Republic within the historical regions of Bohemia and Moravia as well as within two mountain ranges, Žďárské vrchy and Jihlavské vrchy. The region is composed of more than seven hundreds small towns and villages scattered on the hilly and rolling countryside. Jihlava, the region's capital, is the oldest mining town in the country. The city on the River Jihlava has a few interesting sights such as the underground corridors under Jihlava old town, Gothic and Baroque churches, and a great zoo. In Vysočina Region you will find three UNESCO World Heritage Sites, which are the historical centre of Telč, the Pilgrimage Church of Saint John of Nepomuk, St Procopius' Basilica and the Jewish Quarter in Třebíč. Vysočina offers a tranquil scenery for a holiday, among a hilly terrain, dense forests, flower-filled meadows, lakes and high cliffs.

Population: approximately 600 thousand inhabitants

Capital: Jihlava

Other major towns: Třebíč, Žďár nad Sázavou, Nové Město na Moravě

Main attractions: Telč, Pilgrimage Church of Saint John of Nepomuk, Třebíč Jewish Quarter and St Procopius' Basilica, Pelhřimov, Jihlava Zoo

Nearest Airports: Brno–Tuřany Airport (BRQ)

NOTE! This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

If you not change browser settings, you agree to it.

I understand