The Capital Region of Denmark (Region Hovedstaden) is the easternmost administrative region of the country, established in 2007 when five regions replaced the traditional counties.
It comprises Copenhagen (København), Denmark’s capital, situated on the shores of the islands of Zealand and Amager. Copenhagen has a vibrant and colourful historic centre (Indre By) featuring outstanding botanical gardens, picturesque streets and landmarks around Nyhavn harbour and the lakes that characterise the city. In Copenhagen you will find a vast cultural richness in the great museums, a spirited nightlife and outstanding shopping areas, restaurants and hotels.
The administrative centre of the Capital Region of Denmark is the town of Hillerød, set among sublime beech forests and best known for the renaissance Frederiksborg Castle. In this region you will find the Denmark's largest lake, Arresø, as well as other smaller lakes and large forest areas. In the eastern part of the region there is Helsingør Port, in the city of Helsingør, offering ferry connections to Sweden. While in this city you may wish to visit the famous Kronborg Castle!

Population: 1.8 million

Capital: Hillerød

Major city: Copenhagen

Main attractions: Amalienborg Palace, Kronborg Castle, Frederiksborg Castle (includes the Museum of National History), Rosenborg Castle, Christiansborg Palace, Strøget shopping area, Langelinie Pier, Little Mermaid statue, Tivoli Gardens, Rundetaarn Tower, Frederik's Church, City Hall Square, National Museum of Denmark, National Gallery of Denmark, Louisiana Museum of Modern Art

Nearest Airports: Copenhagen Airport, Kastrup (Københavns Lufthavn, Kastrup - CPH)

NOTE! This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

If you not change browser settings, you agree to it.

I understand