The Faroe Islands (Føroyar) or Faeroe Islands is an archipelago in the North Atlantic, between Iceland and Norway. The archipelago is self-governing, part of Kingdom of Denmark and have its one language - the Faroese. It is composed of 18 main volcanic islands, dominated by green mountains and overall rugged landscapes. The islands are connected by ferry, bridges, and tunnels. Hiking and cruising are ideal to explore the outstanding green landscapes of the islands. Other popular outdoor activities are fishing, diving, birdwatching, horse riding and bicycling. The capital, Tórshavn, situated on Streymoy Island, is known for its old town, Tinganes, composed of black-tarred wooden houses set on a small peninsula. Numerous attractive towns and villages are scattered throughout the islands such as Vágur, on the island of Suðuroy and Gjógv on Eysturoy Island.

Population: over 50 thousand inhabitants

Capital: Tórshavn 

Other major places: Hoyvik, Tvøroyri, Fuglafjørður, Runavík, Klaksvík

Main attractions: Gjógv village (Eysturoy Island), Mykines village (islet of Mykineshólmur), Kirkjubøur village (Streymoy Island), Lake Sørvágsvatn/Leitisvatn, Vestmannabjørgini (Vestmanna bird cliffs), Beinisvørð sea cliff (Suðuroy Island), Gásadalur village (Vágar Island), Tórshavn’s old town (Tinganes), Nordic House, Skansin fortress, National Museum of the Faroe Islands (Streymoy Island) Boat Museum and Art Gallery (Eysturoy Island)

Nearest Airports: Vágar Airport (FAE - Vága Floghavn)

NOTE! This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

If you not change browser settings, you agree to it.

I understand