The Democratic Republic of the Congo (République démocratique du Congo) is a large country situated in Central Africa.
Kinshasa is the capital city, situated along the Congo River, with views of Brazzaville, the capital city of the bordering Republic of the Congo, across the river. Kinshasa is the world's largest Francophone city with approximately 12 million people. Here you may visit the Lola ya Bonobos, the world’s sole sanctuary for orphaned bonobos. Near the city you will find Livingstone Falls, a succession of massive rapids on the Congo River.
The Democratic Republic of the Congo is home to exceptionally diverse areas in flora and fauna such as Virunga National Park, home to endangered mountain gorillas. The two active volcanoes – the Mount Nyiragongo and the Nyamuragira, can explain the diversity in this national park. The Kahuzi-Biega National Park, in the North Kivu Province, is a UNESCO World Heritage Site, and one of the few refugees of the Eastern Lowland gorilla in the world.

Population: estimated 91.9 million people

Capital: Kinshasa

Other Major Cities: Lubumbashi, Mbuji-Mayi, Kananga, Kisangani, Kisangani, Bukavu

Religion: Christianity

Climate: north of Equador: dry season from November until March, rainy season from April until October.
south of Equador: dry season from April until October, rainy season from November until March
Rwenzori Mountains: cold, alpine climate

Popular places to visit: Virunga National Park, Kahuzi-Biega National Park, Bombo-Lumene National Park, Lake Kivu, Lola ya bonobo, Rwenzori Mountains National Park, Livingstone Falls, Zongo Falls, Galerie d'Art Contemporain du Musee D'Art de Lubumbashi, Le musée national de Kinshasa (National Museum of the Democratic Republic of Congo), Palais de la Nation building, Lac Ma Valley (Lake), Serpents du Congo snake farm, Boyoma Falls, Idjwi Island

NOTE! This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

If you not change browser settings, you agree to it.

I understand