The county of Devon, or Devonshire, is situated in South West England, bathed by the Bristol Channel (north) and the English Channel (south), sharing borders with Dorset (east), Cornwall (west) and Somerset (northeast).

Devon is abundant with nature and striking landscapes with two National Parks and five Areas of Outstanding Natural Beauty.

This county offers numerous beautiful towns and villages, picturesque seaside resorts such as Dawlish and Torquay. Along the shoreline there is a superb scenic 630-mile footpath – the South West Coast Path.

The administrative centre of Devon is Exeter, an attractive city with a distinctive medieval cathedral dating back 900 years.

Population: over 1.1 million inhabitants

Capital: Exeter

Other major cities: Darthmouth, Plymouth, Torquay, Exmouth, Paignon, Newton Abbot, Lustleigh, Salcombe, Sidmouth, Seaton, Kingsbridge

Main attractions: Exeter Cathedral, Exeter Quayside, Royal Albert Memorial Museum & Art Gallery, Buckfast Abbey, Powderham Castle, Compton Castle, Coleton Fishacre, Greenway House, Dartmoor and Exmoor national parks, North Devon's Biosphere Reserve (with Braunton Burrows sand dune system and numerous sites of Special Scientific Interest), Jurassic Coast (World Heritage Site),Tomar Trails, Beer Quarry Caves, Lydford Gorge

Nearest Airports: Exeter Airport (EXT)

NOTE! This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

If you not change browser settings, you agree to it.

I understand