Located on the northwest part of France and bordered by the English Channel (north), the Bay of Biscay (south), the Atlantic Ocean and the Celtic Sea (west), Brittany (Bretagne) is one of the country’s 18 administrative regions. Its Celtic heritage is a distinguishing feature of great historical importance, still present in several prehistoric monuments, Celtic festivals and Breton folk music.

Population: Over 3 million inhabitants

Capital: Rennes

Other major cities: Brest, Quimper, Lorient, Vannes, Saint-Malo, Saint-Brieuc (Côtes-d'Armor department)

Main attractions: Port town of Saint-Malo; Carnac; Presqu’île de Crozon; Belle Île; Vannes; Île de Batz; Rennes; Josselin

Nearest Airports: Brest Bretagne Airport (BES — Aéroport de Brest Bretagne); Rennes–Saint-Jacques Airport (RNS — Aéroport de Rennes–Saint-Jacques).

NOTE! This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

If you not change browser settings, you agree to it.

I understand