Nouvelle-Aquitaine is situated in western France, having an extensive and irregular coast along the Bay of Biscay. It became a region in 2006, after a territorial rearrangement in France, being nowadays its largest region in terms of area. Nouvelle-Aquitaine’s capital (préfecture) and only metropolis is the city of Bordeaux, which is one of the major centres of the country’s transportation system, and is also in the front line of the world’s wine production. Viticulture, agriculture and tourism are the most important and traditional activities of this region’s economy along with the fishing sector that is a major contributor to local wealth, as is the case of the port of La Cotinière

Population: 5.8 million 

Capital: Bordeaux

Other major cities: Bayonne, Limoges, Poitiers, Pau, La Rochelle

Main attractions: Bordeaux Vineyards, Dune du Pilat, Poltevin Marsh, Château des Enigmes, Place de la Bourse, Adrenaline Parc, Cathedrale Saint-Andre, Rocher de la Vierge

Major airports: Bordeaux-Mérignac Airport (BOD - Aéroport de Bordeaux-Mérignac), Biarritz-Anglet-Bayonne (BIQ - Aéroport de Biarritz Pays Basque), Pau Pyrénées Airport (PUF - Aéroport Pau Pyrénées), Limoges-Bellegarde (LIG - Aéroport de Limoges – Bellegarde)

The live cams will show you some impressive landscapes of Nouvelle-Aquitaine.

NOTE! This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

If you not change browser settings, you agree to it.

I understand