French Polynesia (Polynésie française) is an overseas country of the French Republic, comprising 118 islands and coral atolls in the South Pacific Ocean. The islands are world-famous for their natural beauty. Among the most visited are Bora Bora, Tahiti, Moorea and Tahaa. Many of the islands are surrounded by coral reefs, which form amazing shallow lagoons along the coast.
The Marquesas Islands are known for its mountain landscapes and volcanic peaks. On the island of Hiva Oa there are archaeological sites and the largest tiki statue “Takaii”.
French Polynesia is divided into five archipelagos, and is often called the Tahiti Islands, after the largest island Tahiti.

Population: estimated 276 thousand people

Capital: Papeete

Other major places: Faaa, Puna'auia

Religion: Christianity

Climate: tropical

Main attractions: Bora Bora, Huahine, Tahiti, Mo’orea, Maupiti, Taha’a, Hiva Oa, Nuku Hiva, Tikehau, Rangiroa atoll, Fakarava atoll

Check out webcamtaxi for our live streaming webcams in French Polynesia!

NOTE! This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

If you not change browser settings, you agree to it.

I understand