The region of Central Macedonia (Περιφέρεια Κεντρικής Μακεδονίας) is situated in the seaside part of the Macedonian geographical region, in Greece, and includes the Chalkidiki or Halkidiki Peninsula regional unit, which comprises most of the three small peninsulas known as the ‘three fingers’.

Central Macedonia is one of the most visited regions in Greece, for its ancient history, picturesque landscapes, with a view to Mount Olympus, and the paradisiacal shorelines, such as in the Sarti Village area.

Its capital, Thessaloniki, with a long history dating back to the Byzantine Empire, has among its treasures the Old Town, ‘Ano Poli’.

Population: almost 1.9 million

Capital: Thessaloniki 

Other major cities:  Alexandria, Aridaea, Edessa

Main attractions: Aristotelous Square, Archaeological Site of Aigai, Paleochristian and Byzantine monuments of Thessaloniki, White Tower of Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki Concert Hall, Edessa Waterfalls, Axios-Loudias-Aliakmonas Delta National Park, Mount Chortiatis, Kerkini Lake National Park, Archaeological Museum of Thessaloniki, The Arch of Galerius (or Kamara) and the Rotunda, Vlatades or Vlatadon Monastery, Asprovalta Beach 

Major airports: Thessaloniki International Airport "Macedonia” (SKG – Διεθνής Αερολιμένας Θεσσαλονίκης "Μακεδονία")

NOTE! This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

If you not change browser settings, you agree to it.

I understand