The North Aegean Region is an administrative region of Greece comprising the majority of the islands in the northeastern Aegean Sea: Agios Efstratios, Chios, Oinousses, Psara, Ikaria, Lemnos, Lesbos and Samos, as well as the Fournoi Korseon archipelago, composed of smalls islands.
The region’s capital is Mytilene, a lively city in Lesbos with attractive and diverse architecture, and an active marketplace. Lesbos is the third largest island in Greece, best known for its geological heritage namely the Petrified Forest at Lesvos Island UNESCO Global Geopark. Other major islands in the region are Chios, famous for its medieval villages and Samos with pretty seaside villages, a variety of beaches and lush nature. Explore the North Aegean islands of Greece through these live webcams.

Population: estimated 221 thousand residents

Capital: Mytilene

Other major cities: Chios

Popular attractions: medieval villages, Nea Moni monastery (Chios);
Tunnel of Eupalinos, Heraion of Samos (Samos); Castle of Molyvos, Petrified Forest of Lesbos, Teriade Museum (Lesbos); Lemnos beaches

Major Airports: Samos International Airport/ Aristarchos of Samos (SMI - Κρατικός Αερολιμένας Σάμου "Αρίσταρχος ο Σάμιος»)

NOTE! This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

If you not change browser settings, you agree to it.

I understand