Thessaly (Θεσσαλία) is an administrative region located in central Greece covering mostly of the ancient region of the same name. Thessaly is bathed by the Aegean Sea (east) and the regions of Central Greece (south), Epirus (west) and Macedonia (north). In Thessaly there is a gem of Greece - Meteora - a monastery complex built in huge columns of rock. In this region you will also find Mount Olympus, the highest mountain in the country, the breathtaking forested mountains of Pelion, with a ski resort at the summit - Mount Pelion is one of the most visited in Greece, between the Aegean Sea and the almost enclosed Pagasetic Gulf. The villages around the Lake Plastira are attractive tourist destinations as well was the coastal towns and villages as there are amazing beaches to enjoy.

Population: over 733 thousand inhabitants

Capital: Larissa

Other major cities: Elassona, Farsala, Karditsa, Nea Ionia, Trikala, Volos

Main attractions: Meteora (UNESCO-listed monastery complex), Mount Olympus National Park, Platamon Castle, Holy Monastery of Great Meteoron, Monastery of Varlaam, Kastro fortress, Greek Education Museum, Holy Trinity Monastery, Ancient Greek Theatre (Larissa), Archaeological Museum of Larissa, National Park of Tzoumerka, Peristeri and Arachthos Gorge,

Nearest Airports: Nea Aghialos National Airport (VOL - Κρατικός Αερολιμένας Νέας Αγχιάλου)

Watch sites in real-time from Thessaly in Greece, on our webcam-sharing platform!

NOTE! This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

If you not change browser settings, you agree to it.

I understand