County Limerick (Contae Luimnigh) is a county in the southwest part of the Republic of Ireland. It is in the province of Munster, and extends to the Mid-West Region. Limerick shares borders with the counties of Clare to the north, Tipperary to the east, Cork to the south and Kerry to the west.
The county Capital of the same name, Limerick (Luimneach), is an ancient and charming city along the River Shannon, and a hub for the Mid-West Region. In the city you will see impressive landmarks such as the famous the 800-year-old King John’s Castle and St. Mary’s Cathedral. Limerick is Ireland's first city of Culture, with excellent attractions such as its museums, the restored Milk Market and Georgian townhouses. The county has stunning towns and villages namely Adare Village, a heritage village in Ireland. Limerick also offers wonderful landscapes such Curraghchase Forest Park featuring parklands, lakes and many trails to explore the splendid area.

Population: approximately 200 thousand inhabitants

Capital: Limerick

Other major cities: Newcastle West

Main attractions: Adare Village, Foynes Village, Glin Village, Castle Oliver, Castle of Crom, King John’s Castle, Glenstal Abbey, Hunt museum, Frank McCourt Museum, Treaty of Limerick, Curraghchase Forest Park, Lough Gur (lake), Grange stone circle, Clare Glens

Nearest Airports: Shannon Airport (SNN - Aerfort na Sionna)

NOTE! This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

If you not change browser settings, you agree to it.

I understand