County Mayo (Contae Mhaigh) is situated in West Ireland, in the province of Connacht.
The county is bathed by the Atlantic Ocean on the north and west, and shares borders with County Roscommon on the east, County Sligo on the northeast and County Galway on the south.
County Mayo offers magnificent landscapes including mountains, cliffs and exquisite island formations. In the spectacular Clew Bay there are 365 islands, many of which drumlins. In County Mayo you will find superb beaches such as Keel Beach, in Achill Island, hiking trails, historical landmarks and many more!

Population: approximately 130 thousand people

Capital: Castlebar

Other major towns: Belmullet/ Béal an Mhuirthead, Bangor Erris, Ballina, Claremorris, Foxfort, Westport

Main attractions: Achill Island, Croagh Patrick, Famine Valley, Keel Beach, Clew Bay, Keem Bay, Downpatrick Head Ashford Castle, Sanctuary of Our Lady of Knock, Cong Abbey, Boyne Abbey, Westport House

Nearest Airports: Ireland West Airport (NOC - Aerfort Iarthar Éireann Mhuire)

NOTE! This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

If you not change browser settings, you agree to it.

I understand