The region of Puglia, also called Apulia in English, is situated in the south part of Italy, on the “boot’s heel". Puglia has more than 800 kilometres of coastline - the Adriatic Sea on the east side, and the Ionian Sea on the southwest part of the region.
Bari, the region's capital, features an important seaport and magnificent buildings mainly within La Città Vecchia, the older part of the city. Among the monuments in the city we highlight the Basilica di San Nicola, the Castello Normanno-Svevo, a castle dating back to the 12th century, the Cathedral of San Sabino and the museum beneath it - the Museo del Succorpo della Cattedrale. Besides the historic charm of Bari, the city offers great food and cultural entertainment for all likes.
Other excellent tourist destinations in Puglia include the cities of Andria, Taranto, Monopoli, Ostuni and Lecce, the last in the wonderful Salento Peninsula. The historical and geographical region of Gargano is not to be missed! Gargano National Park is a superb coastal park, which includes the Tremiti Islands, the impressive Gargano promontory and the ancient Forest Umbra.

Population: over 4 million people

Capital: Bari

Other major cities: Brindisi, Andria, Foggia, Lecce, Taranto

Main attractions: Bari - Basilica di San Nicola, Bari Cathedral, Castellana Caves
Andria - Castel del Monte
Taranto - National Archaeological Museum of Taranto, Castello Aragonese
Castro - Zinzulusa Cave
Alta Murgia National Park
Gargano National Park

Nearest Airports: Bari Karol Wojtyła Airport (BRI - Aeroporto di Bari-Karol Wojtyła), Brindisi Airport (BDS - Aeroporto di Brindisi)

NOTE! This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

If you not change browser settings, you agree to it.

I understand