The region of Basilicata is in Southern Italy, bordered by Apulia (north, east), Calabria (south) and Campania (west), and bathed on two sides by the Tyrrhenian and Ionian Seas. This region is composed of the provinces of Potenza and Matera.

The city of Potenza, Basilicata’s capital, looks down the valley of the Basento River in the Apennines, and has landmarks, classic and new, such as the cathedral (Duomo di San Gerardo) and the modern Musmeci Bridge. 

The city of Matera is a tourist destination in this region, with its historic districts “Sassi” showing ancient houses and cave dwellings. 

Among resorts in Basilicata are the towns of Maratea, on the coastline (the Pearl of the Tyrrhenian), and Melfi, at the foot of Mount Vulture.

Population: over 575 thousand inhabitants

Capital: Potenza

Other major cities: Matera, Maratea, Melfi, Bernalda, Rionero in Vulture, Montescaglioso, Policoro

Main attractions: Sassi di Matera, Palombaro Lungo (Matera), Viewpoint of Matera and the Sassi in Murgia Timone, Bridge to the Moon, Parco della Murgia Materana (park with medieval rock churches),  Appennino Lucano - Val d'Agri - Lagonegrese National Park, Statue of Christ the Redeemer of Maratea, Potenza Cathedral, Church of San Francesco (Potenza), Melfi Castle

Nearest Airports: Lamezia Terme International Airport (SUF - Aeroporto Internazionale di Lamezia Terme "Sant'Eufemia")

NOTE! This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

If you not change browser settings, you agree to it.

I understand