Friuli Venezia Giulia is the northeasternmost region in Italy and the country’s 5th smallest region in terms of area (7,858 km2). It borders the Adriatic Sea (south), Austria (north), Slovenia (east) and Veneto (west). Due to its name, many people might think that the city of Venice (Venezia) is situated in this region when, in fact, it is located in Veneto.

Population: Approximately 1.2 million inhabitants

Capital: Trieste

Other major cities: Udine, Pordenone

Main attractions: Basilica di Santa Maria Assunta. Castello di Miramare, Oratorio della Purità, Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art, Museo Archeologico Nazionale, Risiera di San Sabba, Piazza della Libertà, Borgo Teresiano

Nearest Airports: Trieste – Friuli Venezia Giulia Airport (IATA: TRS, ICAO: LIPQ)

NOTE! This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

If you not change browser settings, you agree to it.

I understand