The coastal region of Liguria (Ligûria) is in the northwestern part of Italy, bathed by the Ligurian Sea and bordered by the regions of Piedmont (north), Emilia-Romagna, Tuscany (east), and  France (north). In the capital city, Genoa, you will find historic buildings and streets namely the Strade Nueve, a UNESCO world Heritage Site, along with Pallazzi dei Rolli. Genoa is the centre of the Italian Riviera - from here towards west is the Riviera di Ponente with excellent beaches like in Varazze and the Riviera di Levante towards east, within Liguria region. This region is of crescent shape and its steep topography is abundant with scenic hiking trails and picturesque towns and villages, including the world-famous Cinque Terre, known for its colourful houses on the rugged coastline.   

Population: over 1.5 million inhabitants

Capital: Genoa

Other major cities: La Spezia, Savona, Sanremo, Imperia, Chiavari, Sarzana, Albenga

Main attractions: Italian Riviera, hiking trails, Piazza De Ferrari (main square in Genoa), Genoa Cathedral, Via Giuseppe Garibaldi, Via Balbi, Via Cairoli  (Strada Nueva), Strada Nuova Museums, Palazzi dei Rolli, Aquarium of Genoa, San Fruttuoso abbey,  Doge's Palace (museum), Priamar Fortress, Parco Naturale Regionale di Porto Venere (wildlife park), Toirano Caves, Cinque Terre villages, Gulf of La Spezia

Major Airports: Cristoforo Colombo Airport (GOA - Aeroporto di Genova

Watch live streams from Liguria here, on Webcamtaxi!

NOTE! This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

If you not change browser settings, you agree to it.

I understand