The Autonomous Region of Sardinia (Regione Autonoma della Sardegna, Regione Autònoma de Sardigna) is the officially name of Sardinia, an Italian island situated in the Western Mediterranean Sea, south of the island of Corsica.
Along the coastline of Sardinia you will find scenic areas featuring distinctive beaches such as Cala Luna amidst the rocky coastline, seafront caves including Neptune's Grotto, and dramatic cliffs. The lush landscapes of Sardinia include magnificent mountains with canyons and gorges such as Gorropu Gorge. The island features numerous archaeological sites from the Bronze Age and Roman ruins. Resorts towns in Sardinia include the beautiful and lively medieval city of Alghero and San Teodoro featuring wonderful beaches and bays.

Population: around 1.6 million inhabitants

Capital: Cagliari

Other major cities: Sassari, Quartu Sant'Elena, Olbia, Alghero, Nuoro, Bosa, La Maddalena, Budoni, Porto Pino

Main attractions: beaches, city of Cagliari, Neptune's Grotto (seafront caves), Grotta di Ispinigoli (karst cave), village of Tiscali, Costa Smeralda, Costa Verde, Capo Caccia, Capo Testa, Gennargentu National Park, Bastione Saint Remy (landmark), Nora (archaeological site), Arzachena Prehistoric Sites, Su Nuraxi (archaeological site), Valley of Nuraghi, nuraghe Losa ((archaeological site), Well of Santa Cristina

Nearest Airports:  Olbia Costa Smeralda Airport (OLB - Aeroporto di Olbia-Costa Smeralda)

NOTE! This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

If you not change browser settings, you agree to it.

I understand