Nagasaki Prefecture is located on the west side of the island and region of Kyushu, Japan. The urbanised areas are located among mountains and natural parks, and also near the water, since the prefecture is surrounded by sea, bays and inlets, except to the east side that borders Saga Prefecture. The capital city, Nagasaki, is known worldwide for having suffered an Allied nuclear attack in August 1945, which is monumentalised in the city’s Peace Park and Atomic Bomb Museum. As a coastal city, it is famous for the large and natural Nagasaki Harbor, a stop for cruises from all over the world and a centre of the ferry traffic in Japan. The city is also known for its hot-spring spas, volcanoes and so much more, which you can always check out through the live webcams.

Population: around 1.4 million

Capital: Nagasaki 

Other major cities: Sasebo, Isahaya, Ōmura, Shimabara

Main attractions: Nagasaki Harbour, Nagasaki Atomic Bomb Museum, Nagasaki Peace Park, Memorial Hall, Saikai Pearl Sea Resort, Nagasaki Bio Park, Hirado Castle, Nagasaki Prefectural Art Museum, Hashima Island, Shimabara Castle, Spectacles Bridge, Electric Tramway

Major Airports: Nagasaki Airport (NGS - 長崎空港), Fukue Airport (FUJ - 福江空港), Iki Airport (IKI - 壱岐空港) and Tsushima Airport (TSJ - 対馬空港)

NOTE! This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

If you not change browser settings, you agree to it.

I understand