The Mexican state of Oaxaca is in the southern part of its country, bathed by the Pacific Ocean to the south and sharing borders with the states of Veracruz (north), Chiapas (east), Guerrero (west) and Puebla (northwest).
The state capital is the city of Oaxaca de Juárez, or simply Oaxaca. It is a lively city showing colourful and imperial landmarks remembering both the indigenous presence and the colonial inheritance in Oaxaca.
The Pacific coast of the state has significant resorts areas; the greatest is Huatulco featuring nine wonderful bays such as Tangolunda Bay, and numerous sand beaches. 
There are lush forested regions in Oaxaca such as La Sierra Norte de Oaxaca, with significant biodiversity and fascinating villages. It is home to different indigenous groups, and ecotourism is encouraged through ecological recreational opportunities.
The archaeological site of Monte Albán is on the UNESCO World Heritage List site, and an icon of the state of Oaxaca.

Population: around 4 million inhabitants

Capital: Oaxaca de Juárez

Other places: San Juan Bautista Tuxtepec, Juchitán de Zaragoza, Heroica Ciudad de Huajuapan de León, Huautla de Jiménez, La Crucecita, San Pedro Pochutla,Tehuantepec, Puerto Ángel, Puerto Escondido, Mazunte, Zipolite 

Main attractions: Oaxaca city (Church of Santo Domingo de Guzmán, Museum of Cultures of Oaxaca, Cathedral of Our Lady of the Assumption, Zócalo Oaxaca and Plaza de la Danza squares), Bays of Huatulco, Monte Albán,  Sierra Norte, Lagunas de Chacahua National Park, Santiago Apoala village, Teotitlán del Valle village, Hierve el Agua (natural site)

Nearest Airports: Xoxocotlán International Airport (OAX - Aeropuerto Internacional Xoxocotlán); Huatulco International Airport (HUX - Aeropuerto Internacional Bahías de Huatulco)

NOTE! This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

If you not change browser settings, you agree to it.

I understand