The country of Nepal, formally the Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal (सङ्घीय लोकतान्त्रिक गणतन्त्र नेपाल), is located in South Asia, the most part in the Himalayas and within the Indo-Gangetic Plain. Nepal is surrounded by India on three sides, and China's Tibet Autonomous Region is to the north. Nepal is best known for the Himalayas mountain range, namely the Mount Everest, the highest mountain above sea level on earth.
Besides the famous mountains, this country is admired for its culture, sacred and historic landmarks, wildlife, hill villages and vibrant cities.
The capital is Kathmandu, a spirited city and the largest metropolis in Nepal. Kathmandu is itself a travel destination. As it was once the royal capital of the Kingdom of Nepal, Kathmandu is home to palaces, gardens, large squares and mansions.

The second largest city is Pokhara, offering outstanding lake and mountain views, being at the same time, a gateway to the popular trail in the Himalayas - the Annapurna Circuit. 

Population: 26.4 million inhabitants

Capital: Kathmandu

Major cities: Pokhara, Lalitpur Metropolitan City (historically Patan), Biratnagar, Janakpur

Religions: Hinduism (81 %), Buddhism (9%), Islam (4.4%), Kirant (3%), Christianity (1.4%)

Climate: Nepal has five climatic zones, corresponding to the different altitudes: the Arctic zone (above 4,400metres), the cold zone (2,400 to 3,600 metres), the temperate zone (1,200 to 2,400 metres), the tropical and subtropical (below 1,200metres)

Main attractions: Himalayan peaks including the Mount Everest (shared with China), cities of Kathmandu, Pokhara, Lalitpur Metropolitan City, Lumbini, Panauti, Janakpur; 
Chitwan National Park

NOTE! This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

If you not change browser settings, you agree to it.

I understand