Kathmandu District is an administrative division of Nepal located in Kathmandu Valley. This is the most developed area in the country, surrounded by the Himalayas, and a UNESCO World Heritage Site for its historical and cultural significance.
The headquarters of Kathmandu District is Nepal’s capital – the city of Kathmandu. It is the largest metropolis in the country with around 1 million people living within the city limits. Kathmandu has been the hub of the country in many aspects namely in the culture and economy. The city of Kathmandu is a tourism destination for its culture, old Buddhist and Hindu temples, large squares, and even the nightlife and shopping areas are attractive such as in the neighborhood of Thamel. The city has suffered an earthquake in 2015 which damaged emblematic buildings including the Dharahara Tower. A few buildings are being rebuilt.

Population: around 1.7 million inhabitants

Capital: Kathmandu

Other major cities: Kirtipur, Jorpati

Main attractions: Kathmandu Durbar Square, Patan Durbar Square, National Museum of Nepal, Swayambhunath (ancient Buddhist temple), Pashupatinath Temple, Garden of Dreams, Narayanhiti Palace

Nearest Airports: Tribhuvan International Airport (KTM - त्रिभुवन अन्तर्राष्ट्रिय विमानस्थल)

NOTE! This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

If you not change browser settings, you agree to it.

I understand