The Dutch province of Utrecht is situated in the centre of the Netherlands, bordering Lake  Eemmeer (north), Gelderland (east), rivers Rhine and Lek (south), South Holland (west) and North Holland (north-west). The capital, with the same name, is known to be a student city with a vibrant nightlife. The historic city centre of Utrecht, with many landmarks dating back from the High Medieval Period, is worth a visit. The symbol of the city is the Gothic-style Dom Tower, the tallest church tower in the Netherlands. The geographical region of Vechtstreek, between Amsterdam and Utrecht, is a tourist destination for the natural beauty, parks, waterways, lakes and castles.

Population: over: 1.25 million

Capital: Utrecht

Other major cities: Amersfoort, Houten, Nieuwegein, Veenendaal, IJsselstein, Zeist

Main attractions: Dom Tower (Domtoren), Cathedral Square, Castle de Haar, Amerongen Castle, Centraal Museum, Vechtstreek, Koppelpoort, Pandhof Domkerk, Kaiser's House in Doorn, Oudegracht (canal), Onze Live Vrouwetoren, Sonnenborgh Museum and Observatory, Museum De Heksenwaag, Museum Catharijneconvent

Nearest airports: Amsterdam Airport Schiphol (AMS - Luchthaven Schiphol)

Find out more of Utrecht province on our webcam-sharing platform!

NOTE! This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

If you not change browser settings, you agree to it.

I understand