The region of Canterbury (Waitaha) in New Zealand is situated in the central-east part of the South Island with a topography characterised by flat plains, mountains, clear lakes and other stunning natural landscapes. The capital, Christchurch, has beautiful waterfronts through the Monks Bay and the Avon River. New attractions and restored sites, after the 2011 earthquakes can be admired across this city. In the Aoraki/Mount Cook National Park, you will find the tallest mountain in New Zealand with incredible views and alpine walks. 
Mount Cook National Park

Population: 612 thousand inhabitants

Capital: Christchurch

Other major cities: Timaru, Ashburton, Rangiora, Rolleston 

Main attractions: Christchurch Botanic Gardens, Hooker Valley Track, Lake Tekapo, Lake Pukaki, Kaikoura Peninsula Walkway, Banks Peninsula, Aoraki/Mount Cook National Park, Tasman Glacier, Dolphin and Whale watching, Margaret Mahy Family Playground, The Giant's House, Quake City, Christchurch Art Gallery, Hagley Park, TranzAlpine Train

Nearest Airports: Christchurch International Airport (CHC); Richard Pearse Airport (TIU)

NOTE! This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

If you not change browser settings, you agree to it.

I understand