Kuyavian-Pomeranian Voivodeship (województwo kujawsko-pomorskie) or Cuiavian-Pomeranian Voivodeship is an administrative subdivision of Poland, corresponding to a province, situated in the mid-northern part of the country. As a few rivers, including the Vistula and Oder, cross this voivodeship, many city sights are close to waterfronts. Kuyavian-Pomeranian has two cities as joint capitals: Bydgoszcz and Toruń, forming the Bydgoszcz–Toruń metropolitan area. Bydgoszcz has the nickname of ‘Little Berlin’ due to its rich architecture, as in the picturesque Mill Island site.

Toruń has an attractive gothic appearance that makes the city a tourist destination, and the ‘Medieval Town of Toruń’ is a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Besides being a cultural centre, Toruń, the birthplace of Nicolaus Copernicus, is a science hub.

Surrounding the cities, the lands of Kuyavian-Pomeranian Voivodeship are mostly rural with large protected areas, divided into Landscape Parks. Find out more about Kuyavian-Pomeranian Voivodeship on our webcam-sharing platform.

Population: over 2 million

Capital: Bydgoszcz (governor) and Toruń (assembly)

Other major cities: Włocławek, Grudziądz, Inowrocław

Main attractions: Toruń Old Town (including the Leaning Tower and Muzeum Piernika), Gothic City Hall, Saint Catherine of Alexandria church, Opera Nova, Museum of Nicolaus Copernicus, Museum of Gingerbread (Muzeum Piernika), Basilica Cathedral of St. Mary of the Assumption, Grudziądz Granaries, Mill Island, Vistula Landscape Park 

Main Airports: Bydgoszcz Ignacy Jan Paderewski Airport (BZG — Port lotniczy im. Ignacego Jana Paderewskiego Bydgoszcz-Szwederowo)

NOTE! This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

If you not change browser settings, you agree to it.

I understand