Arkhangelsk Oblast (Арха́нгельская о́бласть) is an administrative division of Russia (federal subject), situated in the northwest part of the country. Arkhangelsk Oblast includes the archipelagos of Franz Josef Land and Novaya Zemlya both in the Arctic Ocean, and the Solovetsky Islands in the White Sea.
The administrative centre is the city of Arkhangelsk, also called internationally as Archangel and Arkhangelsk, situated on the banks off the Northern Dvina River, close to the White Sea. Arkhangelsk is a lively city featuring an important commercial and fishing port, and interesting museums and landmarks to discover!

Population: estimated 1,6 million people

Capital: Arkhangelsk

Other major cities: Severodvinsk

Popular attractions: Kholmogory, Solvychegodsk, Antonievo-Siysky Monastery, Solovetsky Islands, Key Island, Golubinsky Proval (cave), Malye Karely museum, Franz Josef Land and Novaya Zemlya archipelagos, Pinega (town, national reserve and caves), Kargopol town

Major Airports: Talagi Airport (ARH - Аэропорт Архангельск (Тала́ги) имени Ф.А. Абрамова)

Have a look at the live stream webcams from Arkhangelsk Oblast, in Russia!

NOTE! This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

If you not change browser settings, you agree to it.

I understand