The council area of Highland (A' Ghàidhealtachd, Hieland) in Scotland covers the historic region of the Highlands, in northern Scotland, being the largest government division in the United Kingdom. The neighbouring regions of Highland are Argyll and Bute, Aberdeenshire, Perth and Kinross, and Moray. In the Highland region you will be amazed with the wild landscapes of hills and glens, the dramatic coastlines, castles and dreamy lochs including the immense Loch Ness. The capital city is Inverness, with an impressive Old Town, a Victorian Market and the Inverness Castle by the River Ness. The Highland includes the Isle of Skye, the larger of the Inner Hebrides archipelago, and also here, expect to see breathtaking landscapes!

Population: approximately 235 thousand inhabitants

Capital: Inverness

Other major towns: Fort William, Dornoch, Ullapool, Aviemore, Nairn, Thurso, Wick, Portree

Main attractions: Loch Ness, Inverness Cathedral, Old High Church (Inverness) Urquhart Castle, Dunrobin Castle, Blair Castle, Eilean Donan Castle, Cape Wrath, Sandwood Bay, Inverewe Garden, Steall Waterfall, Highland Wildlife Park, Cairngorms National Park, Neist Point Lighthouse, Glen Coe (glen, or valley), Ben Nevis (the highest mountain in the British Isles), Maeshowe (Heart of Neolithic Orkney), Skara Brae, Nevis Range Ski Resort

Nearest Airports: Inverness Airport (INV - Port-adhairInbhir Nis

Discover the Highland in Scotland in real-time on our webcam-sharing platform!

NOTE! This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

If you not change browser settings, you agree to it.

I understand