The Shetland Islands, or simply Shetland is a subarctic archipelago of Scotland, which lies northeast of the country. The archipelago is composed of more than one hundred islands, of which only sixteen are inhabited. Shetland is a national scenic area, featuring a variety of beautiful landscapes such as rugged coastlines, numerous faults, low rolling hills and farmlands.
The capital, Lerwick, with about one third of the Shetland’s population, is situated in Mainland, the largest island of the archipelago. Shetland is abundant with wildlife namely birds. Nesting seabirds are seen in places such as in the Isle of Noss and in Sumburgh Head. The Shetlands Islands have a distinctive culture including its traditional music, its famed wool provided by the local sheep and Up Helly Aa fire festival.
A great way to explore the islands is by ferry as well as taking wildlife watching boat trips.

Population: around 24 thousand inhabitants

Capital: Lerwick

Other major places: Aith, Brae, Baltasound, Hillswick, Gutcher, Gloup, Scalloway, Sumburgh, Sandwick, Sandness, Skaw, Fair Isle

Main attractions: Jarlshof Prehistoric and Norse Settlement, Old Scatness archaeological site, Sumburgh Head, Spiggie Loch, Tingwall Loch, Ronas Hill, Broch of Mousa, Isle of Noss, Wildlife, Shetland Museum and Archives, Hermaness National Nature Reserve

Nearest Airports: Sumburgh Airport (LSI)

NOTE! This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

If you not change browser settings, you agree to it.

I understand