Bratislava (Bratislavský kraj), one of the regions of Slovakia, is located in the southwestern part of the country. It includes its regional capital city, also called Bratislava, which is also the country’s capital. A main geographical feature of this region is the mountain range of Little Carpathians, which separates its territory in two: the Záhorie (west) and the Danubian Lowland (east), the latter being the most fertile. Below the forested areas of the Carpathians mountains there are plenty of vineyards and villages specialised in wine-making, and thanks to them, the Small Carpathians Wine Route was created, for wine enthusiasts and workers.

The capital city of Bratislava region, located on the Danube River, is easily accessible and worth visiting, for its medieval town and grandiose buildings, such as Church of St. Elizabeth of Hungary, also known as Blue Church.

Population: around 625 thousand

Capital: Bratislava

Other major cities: Petržalka, Ružinov, Nové Mesto

Main attractions: Bratislava old town, Bratislava Castle, Devin Castle, Slavin, Church of St. Elizabeth of Hungary, St. Martin’s Cathedral, Primates’ Palace, St. Michael’s Tower and street, Michael’s Gate, Sunny Lakes, Small Carpathians Wine Route

Main airports: Bratislava Airport (BTS - Letisko M. R. Štefánika)

Be connected to this historical and traditional region through the live webcams — it will be as if you were there!

NOTE! This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

If you not change browser settings, you agree to it.

I understand