Bathed to the south by the Atlantic and Indian Oceans and bordered by Namibia, Botswana and Zimbabwe (north), as well as Swaziland and Mozambique (northeast), South Africa (Suid-Afrika, INingizimu Afrika) is the southernmost country in the African continent. From winelands (near Paarl and Stellenbosch) and beaches (e.g. in the province of Western Cape) to impressive cliffs and lush forests, this is a nation of great natural beauty and is also known for its game reserves and safaris.

Population: Around 55 million inhabitants

Capital: Pretoria

Other major cities: Soweto, Johannesburg, Pretoria,  Durban, Tembisa, Cape Town, Port Elizabeth

Religion: Christian

Climate: Although the country is mostly semiarid, the east coast is considered subtropical.

Main attractions: Kruger National Park, Table Mountain, Cape Town & Cape Peninsula, Durban beachfront, Robben Island, Blyde River Canyon Nature Reserve, Apartheid Museum