Mpumalanga, whose name means ‘the place where the sun rises’, is an eastern South African province that shares its borders with Mozambique and Swaziland.

Population: Approximately 4 million inhabitants

Capital: Nelspruit (Mbombela)

Other major cities: eMalahleni (previously Witbank), Standerton, eMkhondo (previously Piet Retief), Malalane, Ermelo, Barberton, Sabie

Main attractions: Kruger National Park, Blyde River Canyon Nature Reserve, Mac‑Mac Falls, Berlin Falls, Long Tom Pass, Djuma Game Reserve

Nearest Airports: Kruger Mpumalanga International Airport (MQP), located 57 km from Nelspruit, has flights to other cities in South Africa and serves people who want to visit Kruger National Park.