Las Palmas is a Spanish province composed of the islands of Gran Canaria, Fuerteventura, Lanzarote and other six small islands. These are the easternmost of the Canary Islands, in the Atlantic Ocean, off the coast of Africa. Las Palmas has been a major tourist destination, especially for being sunny and for the warm climate year-round, combined with long sandy beaches. Fuerteventura and Lanzarote are popular destinations for water sports lovers, mainly surfers, and besides having stunning beaches, these islands are Biosphere Reserves by UNESCO, just like a third of Gran Canaria, home to the province’s capital.

Population: over 1 million

Capital: Las Palmas de Gran Canaria 

Other major cities: Puerto del Rosario, Telde, Arrecife, Puerto del Carmen

Main attractions: Lanzarote: Timanfaya National Park’s, Castillo de San Gabriel, César Manrique House Museum; Fuerteventura: Oasis Park, Corralejo Natural Park, Betancuria Old Town; Gran Canaria: Maspalomas Dunes and Lighthouse, Puerto de Mógan, Painted Cave, Agaete, Vegueta Old Town, Roque Nublo, Pico de las Nieves, Palmitos Park; Lobos Island

Major airports: Gran Canaria Airport (LPA – Aeropuerto de Gran Canaria)