The Region of Murcia (Región de Murcia) is situated in the southeast part of Spain, on the Mediterranean coast, sharing borders with Andalusia, Castile–La Mancha, and the Valencian Community.
The regional capital is Murcia, on the Segura River. On this lively university city you will see the magnificent Cathedral of Murcia on Plaza Cardenal Belluga, many bridges of different styles, and the famous street markets. In fact, the region of Murcia is known as the “Market Garden of Europe” or Huerta de Europa, for its fruit and vegetable production of excellent quality as well as its superb dishes.
In the port city of Cartagena you will see many Roman ruins namely the 1st-century B.C. theatre and Casa de la Fortuna, which accommodates the remains of a complete Roman villa. The city of Caravaca de la Cruz is a Christian pilgrimage destination where you will find Basilica Shrine of Vera Cruz with its distinguishing Caravaca Cross and Baroque facade.
Costa Cálida offers superb beaches, diverse landscapes, charming villages and excellent tourist resorts such as La Manga, a seaside spit between the Menor Lagoon and the Mediterranean Sea.

Population: approximately 1.5 millions inhabitants

Capital: Murcia

Other major cities: Cartagena, Lorca, Caravaca de la Cruz, Aguilas, Los Alcázares

Main attractions: Costa Cálida beaches, Mar Menor (coastal saltwater lagoon), Roman Theatre (Teatro Romano de Cartagena), Casa de la Fortuna, Real Casino de Murcia

Nearest Airports: Región de Murcia International Airport (RMU)

NOTE! This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

If you not change browser settings, you agree to it.

I understand