Turkey (Türkiye) is a transcontinental country with 97% of the territory located in western Asia and 3% in eastern Europe. Istanbul, its largest city, also has an Asian and a European part. The presence in two continents helps to explain its cultural connections to ancient Greek, Persian, Roman, Byzantine and Ottoman empires. Although Turkey has no official state religion, the vast majority of its 80 million people is Muslim (mostly Sunni).

Although the capital is Ankara, Istanbul is by far Turkey’s most populous city. The Old City reflects Istanbul’s cultural and historical diversity, with the Roman hippodrome, Egyptian obelisks and the Byzantine Hagia Sophia Basilica being good examples. Other major cities are Izmir, Bursa, Adana, Gaziantep, Konya, Cankaya and Antalya. Webcamtaxi shows you live HD streaming of beautiful Turkish sites.

Turkey has thirteen UNESCO World Heritage Sites, such as the Historic Areas of Istanbul, Cappadocia, the Neolithic Çatalhöyük, Hattusa, Pergamon, to name only a few. Other tourist landmarks include the Hagia Sophia Basilica, Topkapı Palace, Sultan Ahmed Mosque and the thermal waters of Pamukkale.

Turkey has a temperate climate, which is harsher in inland areas, and Mediterranean (dry, hot summers and mild, wet winters) in the areas along the coasts of the Aegean and Mediterranean Seas, where most beach resorts are located — the Turkish Riviera includes the provinces of Antalya and Muğla.

NOTE! This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

If you not change browser settings, you agree to it.

I understand