Puerto Rico, formally named the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico (Estado Libre Asociado de Puerto Rico) is an unincorporated territory of the United States of America. Puerto Rico is an archipelago as well as the main island, which lies in the northeast of the Caribbean Sea.
The Spanish influence in Puerto Rico is notable, as well as numerous other cultures that contributed to the distinctiveness of Puerto Rico.
The capital is the lively city of San Juan, featuring significant historic colonial-era forts and other landmarks. The city is modern, culturally rich and festive, with numerous bars and nightclubs to choose from. This city is the hub of San Juan–Caguas–Guaynabo metropolitan area in the northeast part of the island of Puerto Rico. In this area you will find Isla Verde District in the city of Carolina offering excellent sand beaches, upscale hotels, and plenty of entertainment.
Puerto Rico offers an amazing experience on three bioluminescent bays, namely in the Mosquito Bay, considered the brightest in the world. Here you can make a kayak tour on the magical blue-green glow of the waters!
Once you are at Puerto Rico you may take a ferry tour to the other beautiful islands such as Culebra, Mona and Vieques.

Population: around 3.3 million inhabitants

Capital: San Juan

Other major cities: Bayamón, Caguas, Carolina, Guaynabo, Ponce

Main attractions: Isla Verde District, San Juan National Historic Site (Castillo San Felipe del Morro, Castle of San Cristóbal, Fortín San Juan de la Cruz), Bioluminescent Bays, El Yunque tropical rainforest

Nearest Airports: Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (SJU - Aeropuerto Internacional Luis Muñoz Marín)

NOTE! This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

If you not change browser settings, you agree to it.

I understand