The unitary authority of Carmarthenshire (Sir Gaerfyrddin) is in the southwest part of Wales. It is bounded by the counties of Ceredigion (north), Powys Neath Port Talbot and Swansea (east), and Pembrokeshire (west) and it is bathed by the Atlantic Ocean (south). Carmarthenshire terrain is mountainous to the north and east, while on the coast you will find numerous fishing villages, sandy beaches on Carmarthen Bay and recreational areas such as Millennium Coastal Path. 

Population: 185.6 thousand inhabitants

Capital: Carmarthen 

Main towns: Llanelli, Ammanford, Burry Port, Carmarthen, Kidwelly,  Llandeilo, Newcastle Emlyn, Llandovery, St Clears, and Whitland

Main attractions: Four Waterfalls Walk, Llyn y Fan Fach lake, Dylan Thomas Boathouse (Laugharne), National Botanic Garden of Wales, Aberglasney Gardens, WWT Llanelli Wetlands Centre, Millennium Coastal Park, National Wood Museum, Kidwelly Castle, Dinefwr Castle, Carreg Cennen Castle, Dolaucothi Gold Mines, Gwili Railway, Tin Shed Experience Museum

Nearest Airports: Pembrey West Wales International Airport (EGFP -
Maes Awyr Pen-Bre)

Discover Carmarthenshire County, in Wales, in real time, on our webcam-sharing platform!

NOTE! This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

If you not change browser settings, you agree to it.

I understand